bridge to study in china|Wechat/Whatsapp: +86-15318861816 |Tel:+86-053258538888-8009 |русскийNew version

About Sichuan Normal University

Sichuan Normal University (SNU) is the largest provincial key university with the most complete course offerings among the provincial universities and colleges in Sichuan Province. Located on the beautiful Lion Hill in the eastern suburbs of Chengdu, SNU covers an area of 3,000 mu, and its total building area is about 1 million square meters. There are about 3,000 faculty and staffs. Of this figure, 770 are professors and associate professors, and 150 have Doctor's degree. There are 17 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Chinese Academy of Engineering who have accepted SNU positions as chief, part-time or emeritus professors.

The origin of SNU can trace back to China Northeast University (CNEU) when it moved to Santai County, Sichuan Province in 1938. After the War of Resistance Against Japan (1937-1945) was over, CNEU moved back to Northeast China. However, some CNEU faculty and staffs stayed in Sichuan, and in 1946, they established Northern Sichuan Workers and Peasants College on the same site of CNEU campus in Santai County. Later, it was renamed as Northern Sichuan University and moved to Nanchong City. In 1952, during the period of the merge of universities and colleges across the country, Sichuan Teachers College (STC) came into being. It mainly grew out of Northern Sichuan University, and at the same time, it merged Eastern Sichuan College of Education and some specialties from Sichuan University and West China University. In 1956, STC moved to Chengdu, and in 1985, approved by the State Commission of Education, STC was renamed as Sichuan Normal University. 

SNU now has a main campus, the Eastern Campus and Caotang campus. It consists of 18 colleges: Chinese Language and Literature, Mathematics and Software, Continuing Education and others. Approved by the Ministry of Education, SNU set up two separate colleges. These campuses boast 21 research institutes and sectors, 69 undergraduate specialties and 42 specialties entitled to grant master's degrees. SNU is also authorized to enroll students for master's degree in education and students for certificates in various specialties at graduate level. In addition, SNU has 29 key disciplines and laboratories as well as personnel training centres.