bridge to study in china|Wechat/Whatsapp: +86-15318861816 |Tel:+86-053258538888-8009 |русскийNew version

About CQU

Chongqing University (CQU) is a key national university in China, directly under the State Ministry of Education, it is also one of the "211 Project and 985 Project” universities with full support in the construction and development from the central and local Government of China. CQU is located in Shapingba District, a cultural and educational center in the city of Chongqing, a major municipality of industry and commerce in the Southwest of China, an economic center on the upper reaches of Yangtze River.

Founded in 1929, Chongqing University had become a national comprehensive university consisting of six colleges in liberal arts, science, engineering, law science and medical science early in 1940s, thus earned a prestige both domestic and abroad then for its outstanding performance in education. A large number of famous scholars such as Li Siguang, Ma Yinchu, He Lu, etc., dedicated to the establishment of a solid academic foundation. In 1952, the nationwide restructuring of higher education turned Chongqing University into an engineering-orientated multi-disciplinary university under the State Ministry of Education. In 1960, Chongqing University was designated as one of the first key national universities.

Since the implementation of reform and opening-up policy in China, Chongqing University has stressed the development of disciplines like humanities, business management, art, sports education, which has further sped up the process of developing itself into a comprehensive institution of higher learning. To meet the needs of higher education development in the 21st century, and to further enhance the university's overall strength, in accordance with the State resolution on institutional reform of universities, Chongqing University merged with Chongqing Jianzhu University and Chongqing Architectural College on May 31 2000, forming a new Chongqing University. In maintaining its previous disciplinary advantage in mechanical and electrical engineering, energy, material science, information technology, bioengineering, business administration, the merger upgraded the new Chongqing University's academic status in China in the fields of architecture, civil engineering and environmental studies.

For its further construction and development, and with the greater support of the State Ministry of Education and Chongqing Municipal Government in terms of capital investment, the new Chongqing University readjusted its education philosophy, formulated its development strategy during the tenth "five-year plan" period, revised its talent-cultivation scheme and teaching program by laying stress on fostering students' innovation ability, improving students' all-round quality. Thus, the university has carried out a series of new measures in its teaching reform, including: renowned professors giving lectures for undergraduate students, bilingual teaching project, innovative talent training program, the system for outstanding students to conduct a consecutive study of bachelor's degree and master's degree programs, etc. Besides, the university has perfected its credit system by adding and strengthening the major and minor specialty program, the flexible schooling system, the second-degree program, and the outstanding students training program, etc. The university has also reformed its standards and modes of choosing undergraduate students for conducting postgraduate programs without taking the entrance exam.

At present, Chongqing University runs 27 colleges, plus the Graduate School, the City College of Science and Technology, the College of Continuing Education, the College of Networking Education. The University now has a total enrollment of 46,000 students, of which 16,000 are master's and doctoral students, and 30,000 undergraduate students. The university owns 18 mobile workstations for postdoctoral study, 88 doctoral programs, 182 master programs, 9 professional master's degree programs, namely MBA, EMBA, MPA, master of engineering, and 82 bachelor's degree programs in 8 academic categories of science, engineering, liberal arts, economics, management, law, agriculture and education. Currently, the university has a total number of 5,800 faculty and staff members, among which about 3000 are full-time teachers, 3 members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering and 12 contracted members from other institutions, 7 members of the Subject Appraisal Team of the Degree Committee under the State Council, 5 chief scientists of the National 973 Project,15 the state-level middle-aged or young experts with distinguished contribution, 400 doctorate supervisors, 1,530 full professors and associate professors.