School of Science

There are 190 faculty members in the Faculty of Science, 40% of whom are professors and associate professors. Over 60% of the teachers are either Ph.D holders or master’s degree holders. The faculty consists of four departments: Department of Mathematics, Department of Physics, Department of Mechanics& Engineering Science, and Department of Civil Engineering. There are six institutes or research centers: Nonlinear Scientific Research Center, Institute of Civil Engineering Testing Skills, Institute of Mathematic Science, Institute of Applied Physics, Institute of Mechanics & Engineering, Institute of Civil Engineering. The faculty offers two doctoral programs , ten master programs and one research field for masters of engineering .There are two provincial key disciplines. In recent years, more than 800 research papers have been published, of which 150 were indexed by SCI, EI and ISTP. 30 monographs were published. The faculty has undertaken 20 research projects funded by the National Natural Science Foundation, more than 60 projects funded by Jiangsu province or ministries of the State Council, more than 200 civil engineering testing programs. The Faculty of Science has been developing a close relationship of cooperation with many prestigious universities and institutes home and abroad. More than twenty experts home and abroad are appointed as the faculty’s part-time professors.